Telangana: 3 Cong MLAs in AP quit, join TRS

Hyderabad: The ruling Congress in Andhra Pradesh today suffered a setback as three of its MLAs quit the party to protest delay in formation of separate Telangana state and joined the TRS.

T Rajaiah from Station Ghanpur in Warangal district, Jupally Krishna Rao of Kollapur in Mahabubnagar district and Somarapu Satyanarayana from Ramagundam in Karimnagar district joined the TRS in the presence of party president K Chandrasekhar Rao.

Satyanarayana, an independent MLA, was an associate member of Congress in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

The three have already submitted resignations from their posts in support of the separate statehood demand.

"The very purpose of resigning from Congress is to build pressure on the Congress high command and also on the ministers and MLAs of Congress from Telangana," Krishna Rao told reporters here.

He hit out at the state ministers from Telangana region for not quitting their posts.

Welcoming the MLAs into the party fold, Chandrasekhar Rao said many more leaders were likely to join TRS.

"I am warning Prime Minister and also Sonia Gandhi. Not just these three MLAs, many others are ready to join the agitation, from all parties. Given the present strength of agitation, other parties will not have livelihood. If you want to safeguard your existence, keep the promise you made on December 9, 2009 (of forming separate Telangana)," he said.