Arunachal Pradesh chief minister resigns

Itanagar: Facing heat from dissidents, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jarbom Gamlin on Monday tendered his resignation to the Governor paving the way for a new incumbent for the post.

A new Congress Legislature Party leader is likely to be elected tomorrow by AICC president Sonia Gandhi and will be subsequently sworn in as the new chief minister, party sources said.

Earlier in the day, 42 Congress MLAs adopted a one-point resolution authorising Gandhi to appoint a new CLP leader.

The resolution said, "We the party MLAs are authorising Sonia Gandhi to nominate the CLP leader." It was read out to mediapersons by AICC observer and Union Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde.

The party MLAs held a meeting where Shinde and two other observer former DoNER minister B K Handique and party's general secretary and in-charge of Arunachal Pradesh Dhaniram Shandil were present.

The change in leadership was demanded by a majority of Congress MLAs led by dissident leader Nabam Tuki. On October 29 both Gamlin and his party rival PCC chief Tuki had offered to resign from their posts.

The AICC president had met both of them that evening.

The rift between Tuki and Gamlin had become a major issue dividing the party along ethnic lines in the state with the majority of Congress legislators demanding Gamlin's resignation for his alleged "authoritarian rule".

Gamlin was sworn in as chief minister on May 5 after the death of former chief minister Dorjee Khandu in a helicopter crash on April 30.

In the 60-member House, Congress has 42 members, Trinamool Congress - 5, NCP - 5, People's Party of Arunachal - 4, BJP - 3 and Independent one. Trinamool Congress and NCP provide outside support to the Congress government