Eight in fray for Bellary bypoll

Bellary: Eight candidates, including former Karnataka minister B Sreeramulu and ruling BJP nominee Gadilingappa, are left in the fray for the Nov 30 bye-election to Bellary Rural Assembly constituency at the end of withdrawal of nominations on Tuesday.

During the withdrawal, four independents opted out of the fray, Electoral Officer Sashikanth Senthil told reporters here.

Besides Sreeramulu, contesting as an independent after quitting the BJP, and Gadilingappa, Ramprasad of Congress is also contesting the bypoll making it a triangular contest.

Sreeramulu, a close aide of former minister and mining baron G Janardhana Reddy, is seeking to retain the seat which he vacated apparently upset over denial of a cabinet berth to him in the D V Sadananda Gowda Ministry.