17 people convicted in Kandhamal riot case

Phulbani(Odisha): A local court in Odisha's Kandhamal district has sentenced 17 people to three-years rigorous imprisonment and penalty of Rs 5,000 each after convicting them of house burning, rioting and unlawful assembly with deadly weapons during the 2008 communal riot.

B N Mishra, Additional Sessions Judge, first track court-II pronounced the judgement yesterday.

According to prosecution these people were involved in the Kandhmal riot in August 2008 at Hatapada of Raikia town.