BJP declares 4th list of UP poll candidates

New Delhi: BJP on Friday released its fourth list of 34 candidates for Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, which includes four women and five Scheduled Caste candidates.

Radhamohan Das Aggarwal will be the party candidate from Gorakhpur urban constituency. He has represented the constituency several times in the past.

Ramji Kesharvani (Allahabad West), Arun Kumar (Bareilly), Rajlakshmi Verma (Kursi), Triveni Ram (Alapur), Pankaj Gupta (Unnao) and Somendra Tomar (Meerut South) are some of the candidates who figure in the list.

The party has fielded RP Kushwaha (Shivpur) from OBC community to which former tainted cabinet minister in Mayawati government Babu Singh Kushwaha belongs. BJP is aggressively wooing the non-Yadav OBC votes including Kushwahas, Mauryas, Koeris and Kicchas.

BJP will declare candidates for the remaining seats in the coming week, sources said.

The party top brass is divided on whether to field firebrand Hindutva leader Uma Bharti and former party president Rajnath Singh's son Pankaj and has not been able to zero in on the constituency for these leaders.