AP Cong distributes authorisation letters

Hyderabad: Andhra Pradesh Congress president Botsa Satyanarayana on Monday handed over the authorisation letters to the party candidates in the by-polls scheduled to be held for seven assembly seats on March 18.

He distributed the 'B-forms' to the nominees at Gandhi Bhavan and the party leaders expressed confidence that the party would put up a good show in the polls.

Meanwhile, Lok Satta Party of bureaucrat-turned-politician Jayaprakash Narayan said it will field nominees from Kovur and Mahabubnagar.

By-elections have been necessitated in Adilabad, Nagarkurnool, Kollapur, Station Ghanpur and Kamareddy due to the resignation of sitting members in support of separate Telangana statehood demand.

The sitting MLA died in Mahabubnagar. The sitting TDP MLA of Kovur quit in support of Kadapa MP Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy which caused the by-poll.