India's schedule on Day 7 at 2014 Commonwealth Games

Zee Media Bureau/Dattaraj Thaly

New Delhi: Day 7 of the 20th Commonwealth Games in Glasgow is upon us. After a stunning show on Day 6, the Indian contingent will look to move up the medals table with a strong push today.

Yesterday, two-time Olympic medallist Sushil Kumar spearheaded a sparkling show as Indian grapplers dominated the wrestling arena with three gold medals after the shooters ended their campaign on a rousing note with five more podium finishes on sixth day of competitions in the 20th Commonwealth Games.

With 10 medals, including three gold, this was India's best show in this edition of the mega-event.

Earlier, Indian shooters continued to dominate the Barry Buddon Centre with the unassuming Sanjeev Rajput and Harpreet Singh clinching a silver medal each but there was heartbreak for Olympic silver winner Vijay Kumar.

Star marksman Gagan Narang had to be contend with a bronze while Manavjit Singh Sandhu and Lajja Gauswami, too, finished third on the podium, as the Indian shooting team finished with an impressive tally of 17 medals (4 9 4) from the Games.

India's medals tally went up to 36 with 10 gold, 15 silver and 11 bronze, but they slipped a place to sixth after having regained the fifth position.

With four wrestling events on Day 7, India will again look to dominate on the mat. S. Kadian, B Bajrang, L Lalita and S. Malik will all feature in their respective weight categories for India today.

Men's boxing event will see all of India`s best boxer enter the ring in their quarter-final bouts. Vijender Singh, Devendro Laishram, Manpreet Jangra, and Amitpreet Singh will be looking to advance to the semi-finals in their weigh categories.

Two of India's finest badminton players – P. Kashyap and P.V. Sindhu will be in action today in their Men's and Women's Round of 32 matches respectively.

In Athletics, India can expect a strong performance from Olympian Vikas Gowda in the Men's Discuss Throw event.

In team events, India will be represented in table tennis, badminton, squash and hockey.


Our full coverage on Commonwealth Games 2014


Following is the schedule (tentative timings) of the Indian challenge on Day 7 of the Glasgow Commonwealth Games:


1436 IST - Men's FS 97kg Round of 16 : Satywart Kadian vs Manjua Uduvila (Sri Lanka)
1454 IST - Men's FS 61kg Round of 16: B Bajrang vs Sasha Madyarchyk (England)
1506 IST - Women's FS 53kg Quater-final: L. Lalita vs M. Madi (South Africa)
1524 IST - Women's FS 58kg Quater-final: Sakshi Malik vs E. Engono Eyia (Cameroon)

Table Tennis

1530 IST - Mixed Doubles Second Round
1530 IST - Women's Singles Second Round
1630 IST - Men's Doubles Second Round
1530 IST - Mixed Doubles Second Round


1630 IST - Women's Doubles Pool D: India vs Malaysia
1730 IST - Mixed Doubles Pool G: India vs New Zealand
1800 IST - Mixed Doubles Pool E: India vs Canada
2230 IST - Mixed Doubles Pool G: India vs Uganda

Lawn Bowls

1315 IST - Men's Singles – Section B, Rd 4, Match 1: S. Bahadur vs M. Shahzad (Pakistan)
1615 IST - Women's Pairs - Section B ,Rd 5, Match 2: India vs Fiji
1615 IST - Women's Triples - Section A, Rd 5, Match 2: India vs Jersey
2015 IST - Men's Singles – Section B, Rd 5, Match 1: Sunil Bahadur vs S. Tuikiligana

Gymnastics Artistic

2256 IST - Women's AA Final - Subdivision 1: Dipa Karmakar 


2030 IST - Women's Preliminary WA Match W20: India vs South Africa


1900 IST - Men's Heavy (91kg) Quarter-final 3: Amitpreet Singh vs S. Lavelle (Scotland)
1945 IST - Women's Fly (48-51kg) Quarter-final 2: P. Rani vs J. Wangi (PNG)
2100 IST - Women's Light (57-60 kg) Quarter-final 3: L. Devi vs C. Jones (Wales)
2315 IST - Men's Light Fly (49kg) Quarter-final 2: D. Laishram vs A. Ahmed (Scotland)
0015 IST - Men's Welter (69kg) Quarter-final 3: M. Jangra vs D. Lewis (Austalia)
0100 IST - Men's Middle (75kg) Quarter-final 1: Vijender Singh vs A. Prince (T&T)


1330 IST - Women's Singles Round of 32: P.C. Thulasi vs S. Chambers (Northern Ireland) 
1530 IST - Men's Singles Round of 32: R. V. Gurusaidatt vs E. Ekiring (Uganda) 
1530 IST - Men's Singles Round of 32: S. Kidambi vs D. Font (Wales) 
1530 IST - Men's Singles Rd of 32: P. Kashyap vs D. Thorpe (Barbados) 
1700 IST - Women's Singles Round of 32 – P.V. Sindhu vs S. le Granje (RSA) 
1730 IST - Men's Doubles Round of 32: Pranaav Chopra/Akshay Dewalkar vs Sachin Dias/Buwaneka Dullewa (SL) 
2200 IST - Women's Doubles Round of 32: Jwala Gutta/Ashwini Ponnappa vs Tinabora Tekeiaki/Teitiria Utimawa (KIR)


1435 IST - Women's Long Jump Qual. Round, Group A – M. Devassya Johny
1510 IST - Men's Discuss Throw Qual. Round, Group A – Vikas Gowda
1535 IST - Women's High Jump Qual. Round, Group B – Nagaraj Gobbargump
1642 IST - Women's 800m Round 1 – Heat 3 – Tintu Lukka
0045 IST - Women's Javelin Throw Final – A. Rani


1435 IST - Men's 1m Springboard Preliminary: Ramananda Kongbrailatpam 

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link