2nd ODI: England humble India to take 1-0 lead

Zeenews Sports Bureau

Southampton: England took a 1-0 lead in the ODI series after posting a seven wicket win over India in the 2nd match at Southampton.

The home team came out at The Rose Bowl with a point to prove in their unbeaten summer against India and the batsmen stepped up to the task, led by half-centurion skipper Alastair Cook.

Cook, along with the top order, spring-shot the run scoring right from the word go and knocked the wind out of the opposition World Champions who have had a rough tour plagued by injuries.

Scorecard: India Vs England»

India had managed a competitive 187/8 in the stipulated 23 overs as England conjured some super catches to stop the visitors from running amuck after the efforts of the top order.

Opener Ajinkya Rahane slammed his first fifty to put India in driver’s seat in the rain-shortened ODI as the tactics of the night spelled T20 like cricket.

The top order did look decent after a long time as Rahane and Rahul Dravid spanked the ball all over the park. Dravid was sizzling when his bullet shot was caught by Anderson at short mid-wicket at a score of 32 runs.

Virat Kohli however, could not contribute much as he was caught in the deep at a score of nine runs off Swann’s delivery. Dhoni was a victim of his own helicopter shot while Manoj Tiwary and Ravichandran Ashwin too faded quickly.

Suresh Raina was in good nick as he 40 off just 19 deliveries with three hits out of the park.

Opener Parthiv Patel departed after scoring a super quick 28 runs off 18 balls to a James Anderson delivery that went into the gloves of the keeper.

The 1-0 lead will give England an edge going in to the third instalment with the rain factor looming large over the series even as MS Dhoni was left soul searching with nothing working for him.

England (Playing XI): Alastair Cook(c), Craig Kieswetter(w), Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Samit Patel, Ben Stokes, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Jade Dernbach

India (Playing XI): Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravichandran Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Munaf Patel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link