Amla third Proteas player to be named SA`s Cricketer of the Year twice

Johannesburg: Hashim Amla has become third South African player to be named country`s `Cricketer of the Year` on two occasions, when he received the award for 2012-13 season at a gala Cricket South Africa (CSA) banquet.

Amla had previously won the award in 2010 and joined two other dual winners in Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006) and Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011), while other previous winners include Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009) and Vernon Philander (2012).

The right-handed batsman won four awards in total, including the Test Cricketer of the Year, Fans` Cricketer of the Year and `So Good` award. The only award which he did not win despite being nominated was for the ODI Player of the Year, which went to ODI skipper AB de Villiers.

Meanwhile, the report said that De Villiers picked up a second award as the Players`` Player of the Year, adding that Dale Steyn was named T20 International Player of the Year and Kallis won the Delivery of the Year award.

Marizanne Kapp was named South African women`s Cricketer of the Year while Kyle Abbott rounded out the international awards by being named Newcomer of the Year.

Hailing the awarded players, CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat specially commended Amla, saying that he displayed the true spirit of cricket with his attitude and humility in the game.

Lorgat also said that those qualities transcend his international statistics for which the country is lucky to have him as a role model for the future generations.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link