Andhra thrash Goa by 170 runs

Last Updated: Monday, February 18, 2013 - 21:48

Goa: Andhra Pradesh produced a brilliant allround display to hand over hosts Goa a humiliating 170-run defeat in the south zone encounter of the Vijay Hazare National One Day Championship here today.

Sent into bat, Andhra posted a challenging 261 for six in their stipulated 50 overs with opener K S Bharat cracking a strokeful 125, containing 13 fours, and B Sumanth hitting a run-a-ball 45, which was laced with three fours.

The Andhra bowlers then returned to decimate the home team, dismissing them for a paltry 91 in just 25.4 overs.

KS Shahbuddin and B Sudhakar picked up three wickets each, while P Vijay Kumar and A G Praveen took two each to complete the victory for Andhra.

Such was the domination of the Andhra bowlers that only three batsmen -- R U shukla (13), Shadab Jakati (16) and B A Mangaldas (17) could reach double figures in a dismal batting performance by Goa.

Brief Score:
Andhra: 261 for six in 50 overs (K S Bharat 125; SS yadav 2/61)
Goa: 91 all out in 25.4 overs (B Mangaldas 17; B Sudhakar 3/10).


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Monday, February 18, 2013 - 21:48

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus