Asia Cup, India vs Sri Lanka: Hardik Pandya takes three wickets off three balls...but it's not a hat-trick!

When Pandya was introduced in the seventh over against Sri Lanka on Tuesday, he picked a wicket off his first ball, as Dilshan pulled it straight into the hands of R Ashwin at deep square leg.

Asia Cup, India vs Sri Lanka: Hardik Pandya takes three wickets off three balls...but it's not a hat-trick!

Mirpur: Rising Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya missed out on an T20I hat-trick despite taking three wickets off three balls. (Asia Cup 2016: FULL COVERAGE)

Pandya dismissed Mohammad Sami and Mohammad Amir off consecutive balls to bowl Pakistan out for 83 runs in Match 4 of the tournament.

When Pandya was introduced in the seventh over against Sri Lanka on Tuesday, he picked a wicket off his first ball, as Dilshan pulled it straight into the hands of R Ashwin at deep square leg.

The wicket meant Pandya had three wickets from three balls in the tournament.

But as per rules, to claim a hat-trick, a player needs to take a wicket off three consecutive balls in the same match.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link

Close