Bangladesh vs New Zealand, 1st ODI - As it happened...

Updated: Oct 29, 2013, 12:57 PM IST


Zee Media Bureau



New Zealand innings:

Over 29.5 || Score 162

Riding on the hat-trick of Rubel Hossain, Bangladesh won the first ODI match of the series against New Zealand by 43 runs (D/L method). Now Bangladesh is one up in the three match series. Rubel Hossain got the Man of the Match award for his staggering figures of six for 26 in his 5.5 overs.

GD Elliott c Mashrafe Mortaza b Rubel Hossain 71 (119m 77b)

TG Southee c sub (Shamsur Rahman) b Abdur Razzak 0 (4m 1b)

NL McCullum c Mashrafe Mortaza b Rubel Hossain 10 (16m 15b)

JDS Neesham c Mushfiqur Rahim b Rubel Hossain 0 (1m 1b)

BB McCullum c sub (Shamsur Rahman) b Rubel Hossain 0 (2m 1b)

Corey J Anderson b Rubel Hossain 46 (31m 31b)

Over 20 || Score 82/3

The Kiwis lost two crucial wickets – of Anton Devcich and Ross Taylor who were dismissed by Mahmudullah and Rubel Hossain. The first three wickets fell with just 60 runs on the board after which Grant Elliott and Corey Anderson have added unbeaten 22 runs for the fourth wicket. The Kiwis need a big partnership as the Bangladeshi bowlers are now striking at regular intervals.


Over 10 || Score 37/1

Bangladesh were given their first breakthrough by Sohag Gazi who picked the wicket of Rutherford who missed the line as the ball dislodged the bails. New Zealand now need 229 runs from 40 overs.

HD Rutherford b Sohag Gazi 1 (9b)


Bangladesh innings:

Over 49.5 || Score 265/10

After Rahim’s dismissal, wickets fell in a hurry as apart from Mahmudullah (29), none of the lower order batsmen managed to play big knocks as the innings ended when Abdur Razzak was caught behind by McCullum who took his fourth catch of the match. It is indeed a good score by Bangladesh considering the fact that they were 25/3 at one stage.

Abdur Razzak c BB McCullum b Anderson 12 (8b)
Mashrafe Mortaza c NL McCullum b Neesham 6 (4b)
Sohag Gazi c BB McCullum b Anderson 6 (10b)
Mahmudullah c Taylor b Neesham 29 (30b)
Naeem Islam c BB McCullum b Southee 84 (115b)


Over 40 || Score 203/5

James Neesham gave a double blow to Bangladesh in the 37th over of the innings when he dismissed Mushfiqur Rahim (90) and Nasir Hossain in the same over. With Rahim’s dismissal, Neesham also ended the 154 run partnership between the Bangladesh skipper and Naeem Islam. 27 runs came in the last five overs and with the help of some significant contributions from the lower order, they can for sure reach a formidable score.

Mushfiqur Rahim c BB McCullum b Neesham 90 (98b)

Nasir Hossain b Neesham 1 (2b)


Over 35 || Score 176/3

And the fourth wicket partnership continues to hurt the Kiwis as it has now swollen to 151 runs. Both the players have grown in confidence, Rahim in particular has played some fantastic strokes and the partnership would now be bothering Kiwi skipper Brendon McCullum who would be disappointed after the bowlers couldn’t capitalise on the good start. Bangladesh have added 55 runs in the last ten overs.


Over 25 || Score 121/3

Mushfiqur Rahim and Naeem Islam have done exceptionally well as Bangladesh haven’t lost a wicket in the last ten overs. Rahim has led from the front and he is currently batting on 65. The Bangladeshi skipper has been well supported by Naeem Islam and both of them have added unbeaten 96 runs for the fourth wicket. Bangladesh have added 66 runs in the last ten overs.


Over 15 || Score 55/3

Anamul Haque was the third Bangladeshi batsman to be dismissed after Southee bowled a good bouncer which took the edge and went towards second slip where the catch was taken. Since then, Mushfiqur Rahim has played some good strokes to lessen the pressure on his team mates.

Anamul Haque c NL McCullum b Southee 13 (22b)


Over 5 || Score 22/2

Tim Southee got the first breakthrough for his side when Tamim Iqbal missed the line of a delivery that nipped in after pitching and hit him on the pads. The first wicket partnership lasted for just 13 runs. As a result of a mix up, Mominul Haque was the next batsman to be dismissed and he didn’t even face a ball. Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim has come to the crease to give company to Anamul Haque.

Tamim Iqbal lbw b Southee 5 (8b)

Mominul Haque run out 0 (0b)


Revenge would be in their minds when New Zealand take on Bangladesh in the first ODI match. An inexperienced Bangladesh squad humiliated the Kiwis by defeating them 4-0 in a five-match series after one match was washed out due to rain.

There would be huge responsibility on the shoulders of Brendon McCullum to play some good knocks for his team. Bangladesh on the other side would be desperate to show their win in that series three years ago wasn’t a fluke and they have it in them to compete with the best teams at the international level.

Bangladesh Squad:

Mushfiqur Rahim (c & wk), Abdur Razzak, Al-Amin Hossain, Anamul Haque, Mahmudullah, Mominul Haque, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Sohag Gazi, Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shamsur Rahman, Ziaur Rahman

New Zealand Squad:

Brendon McCullum (c), Tom Latham (wk), Corey Anderson, Anton Devcich, Grant Elliott, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson