Batsman Rohit Sharma to lead Mumbai this Ranji season

Last Updated: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 20:59

Mumbai: Indian batsman Rohit Sharma, who led Mumbai Indians franchise to the IPL and Champions League T20 titles this year, was today named as the Mumbai Ranji team captain for this season.

The announcement came after former India pacer Ajit Agarkar, who guided the Mumbai team to their 40th Ranji Trophy title last season, announced his retirement.

"Rohit Sharma has been selected as captain of the Mumbai Team for the season 2013-2014," the MCA said in a statement issued here on Wednesday.

However, left-arm Indian pacer Zaheer Khan will lead the side in the first match against Haryana that begins on October 27 and concludes on October 30, at Lahli, Haryana, the statement said.

Rohit would be doing national duty against Australia in the ongoing ODI series at that time.

Sachin Tendulkar, who is retiring from Test cricket after playing his landmark 200th match here against the West Indies next month, has also been picked in the 15-member squad against Haryana.

Mumbai Squad: Zaheer Khan (captain), Abhishek Nayar (vice captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Jaffer, Ajinkya Rahane, Dhaval Kulkarni, Iqbal Abdullah, Vishal Dabholkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Kaustubh Pawar, Siddhesh Lad, Javed Khan,Hiken Shah, Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr), Aditya Tare.


First Published: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 20:59

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus