Bell survives close shout, decision criticised by experts
Bangalore: The crucial group B World Cup match between India and England here today witnessed a controversial moment when Ian Bell was ruled not out by on-field umpire Billy Bowden to a delivery, which TV replays clearly showed, was hitting the stumps.
Bowling the final ball of the 25th over, Yuvraj Singh`s delivery struck Bell on the pads and the ball-tracking system suggested it was going to hit middle and off. The batsman, shaping up for a sweep, was almost on his way back after watching replays on the giant screen, but Bowden was not convinced.
India called for the decision review but third umpire Rod Tucker somehow went with Bowden`s decision as there was more than 2.5m between impact and the stumps.
The controversial decision was roundly criticised by commentators Nasser Hussain and Sourav Ganguly. The former England skipper said that irrespective of whether the distance was 2.5 or 3 metre the decision was wrong, and Ganguly nodded in complete agreement.
"I don`t care whether it is 2.5 or 3.5 or 4.5, the ball was clearly going to hit the middle stump and he should have been given out," Hussain said.
Fellow commentator Ganguly said, "I do agree with you Nasser, I think Bell is very lucky to have survived.”