Bengal thrash Assam, moves into quarters

Kolkata: Bengal displayed an all-round show to notch a bonus point victory over Assam by 69 runs and storm into the quarterfinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, having topped the East Zone leg of the tournament.

After getting all out for 236 in 46.1 overs, Bengal managed to bundle out Assam for 167 in 42.3 overs to bag a bonus point and top the pool with 19 points.

Opting to bat first, Bengal rode on a 79-run third wicket stand between Shreevats Goswami (69 off 84 balls, 9x4, 1x6) and Wriddhiman Saha (72 off 60 balls, 7x4, 2x6) to reach a decent total of 236.

Skipper Sourav Ganguly, who was down with fever, missed today`s match.

Assam`s left-arm spinner Deepak Gohain (3 for 62) was the pick of the bowlers, while Gokul Sharma and Tarjinder Singh scalped two wickets each.

Chasing the target, Assam struggled to get a partnership going after their veteran opener Dheeraj Jadhav (16) was dismissed by Mohammad Shami Ahmed.

Assam made the preliminary quarterfinals by finishing second with 12 points.

Five top teams and the runners-up with the best net run-rate make the quarters. The next four runners-up teams will play two preliminary quarters to identify the remaining two quarter-finalists.

Brief scores:

Bengal: 236 in 46.1 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 72, Shreevats Goswami 69; Deepak Gohain 3/62, Tarjinder Singh 2/36, Gokul Sharma 2/41).

Assam: 167 in 42.3 overs (Pallavkumar Das 38; Iresh Saxena 2/24, Sanjib Sanyal 2/26, Mohammad Shami Ahmed 2/34).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link