Botha to lead SA against India in one-off T20

Johannesburg: All-rounder Johan Botha has been named captain of the South Africa team for the one-off Twenty20 international against India here on March 30 with regular limited-overs skipper AB de Villiers and vice-captain Hashim Amla being rested.

Farhaan Behardien and Dane Vilas are the two first-timers in the 13-man squad.

Jacques Kallis, who pulled out of the Wellington Test against New Zealand with a stiff neck, was included.

"We are leaving all the players out who are involved in the current Test match against New Zealand with the exception of Jacques Kallis for whom there are special circumstances," Andrew Hudson, the convener of selectors, said.

"They will arrive back home two days before the start of the match, having travelled halfway across the world, including a 10-hour time difference, and we don`t believe they will be in any condition to play an international game of cricket.

"We have chosen a squad of 13 as there is some doubt about the fitness of Kallis who has been ruled out of the current Test match. The team management needs to have plenty of options available; such is Kallis` all-round value to the side."

Lonwabo Tsotsobe was the only other member of the Test squad in New Zealand, apart from Kallis, to be selected.

Squad: Johan Botha (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Colin Ingram, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk, Dane Vilas.