Brathwaite replaces Smith in West Indies squad

Basseterre: West Indies, who lead Pakistan 1-0 in their two-match series, have replaced opening batsman Devon Smith with teenager Kraigg Brathwaite for the second Test at Warner Park starting on Friday.

Barbadian opener Brathwaite, 18, is the only change in the 13-man squad as the home team aim to win only their third Test series in the last seven years.

West Indies completed a 40-run victory over Pakistan on the fourth day of the first Test in Guyana on Sunday, their first triumph in 17 Tests dating back to February 2009.

Brathwaite made his first-class debut aged just 16 and earned a place in the West Indies squad for the Test series against Bangladesh in 2009 when several senior players were on strike.

A patient batsman who has modelled his dogged approach on Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brathwaite was the leading run-scorer for the West Indies under-19 squad at the 2010 World Cup in New Zealand.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Brendan Nash, Carlton Baugh Jr, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shiv Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons.

Bureau Report

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link