Champions League T20 Qualifiers: Otago Volts vs Kandurata Maroons - As it happened...

Updated: Sep 18, 2013, 15:52 PM IST

Zee Media Bureau


Over 18 || Score 157/4

Otago Volts have won the match by six wickets. Ryan ten Doeschate played a match-winning innings of 64 runs off just 32 balls. He accelerated the pace of the innings after the first ten overs, as a result of which Otago chased down the total in just 18 overs. James Neesham also played a good hand towards the end and he remained unbeaten on 32 from 19 balls.


Over 15 || Score 118/3

Ryan ten Doeschate is playing a phenomenal innings for Otago and he is currently batting on 44 from just 23 balls. Lokuarachchi was clobbered for three consecutive sixes in the 11th over and the Maroons need to get his wicket if they entertain any chances of winning this match. 56 runs have been scored in the last five overs. Most of which have come off Doeschate’s willow.


Over 10 || Score 62/2

Otago lost the big wicket of McCullum (8), who was dismissed as a result of some brilliant work behind the stumps by Sangakkara. 29 runs have been scored in the last five overs and now Broom (21) and Doeschate (7) need to stitch a partnership from here onwards.


Over 5 || Score 33/1

Otago have made a cautious start after the openers added 31 for the first wicket. The partnership was broken by Randiv after Rutherford hit one straight to long-on. McCullum is still at the crease with Broom.


Kandurata Maroons innings:

Over 20 || Score 154/9

The Maroons added 42 more runs in the last five overs. Ian Butler bowled a brilliant fourth over where he dismissed Tharanga (76) and Lokuarachchi (0) off consecutive balls and was on a hat-trick. He couldn’t claim a hat-trick but he dismissed Silva (6) off the last ball of his spell and ended with figures of 21/3. It is a decent total, but we will have to see whether Otago batsmen can chase it convincingly.


Over 15 || Score 112/4

While Upul Tharanga is still going strong at 61*, his team mates are perishing at quick pace. The Maroons have added 44 runs in the last five overs. They now need Tharanga to bat well in the next five overs to take them to a respectable score.


Over: 10 II Score: 68/2

Maroons have lost two wickets in the past five overs including the big wicket of Kumar Sangakkara. Off the sixth over came eight runs and a wicket. Jayasuriya struck the first maximum of the innings off the second delivery. McMillan got his revenge off the final delivery after having Jayasuriya bowled. He scored 13 (19b, 6X1). Sangakkara came in at no. 3. He got off the mark in style with a boundary off his first delivery. Nathan McCullum was introduced in the eighth over and Tharanga struck him for two sixes. 15 runs came in that over. Sangakkara chimed in sending the first delivery of the ninth over, bowled by Jimmy Neesham, beyond long on boundary for a maximum. Neesham had the last laugh having Sangakkara caught by Doeschate at long on off his third delivery. Tharanga ended the over with a boundary. Tharanga was dropped by wicketkeeper off the second delivery of the 10th over, bowled by McCullum. Tharanga made things worse by hitting the next for a six. He ended the over with a boundary.

Kandurata Maroons Over: 5 II Score: 17/0

A slow start by the Sri Lankan team. Upul Tharanga and Shehan Jayasuriya opened the innings for the Maroons. Ian Butler bowled the first over and in it came just a single. James McMillan shared the new ball with Butler and four singles were scored in it. The first boundary of the match came in the fourth over from the bat of Tharanga. The fifth over also proved to be a tight one as just three runs came off it.

TOSS: Otago Volts won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Skipper Brendon McCullum led from the front smashing an unbeaten 83 as Otago Volts from New Zealand comfortably beat Pakistan`s Faisalabad Wolves by eight wickets in their first qualifying round match of the Champions League Twenty20 on Tuesday.

Kandurata Squad: Upul Tharanga, Shehan Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara(w), Lahiru Thirimanne(c), Chamara Silva, Thilina Kandamby, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis

Otago Squad: Neil Broom, Hamish Rutherford, Brendon McCullum(c), Ryan ten Doeschate, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan McCullum, Derek de Boorder(w), Ian Butler, Neil Wagner, Nick Beard, James McMillan