Champions League Twenty20: Rajasthan Royals vs Highveld Lions - As it happened...

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2013, 19:16 PM IST


Zee Media Bureau/Suyash Srivastava

Rajasthan Royals take on Lions in a group A league match of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament at Sawai Man Singh stadium.



Rajasthan Royals innings:

Over 20 || Score 153/9

As a result of an all-round show, the Rajasthan Royals continued their dominance at their fortress in Jaipur as they comprehensively thrashed the Highveld Lions by 30 runs. Tambe picked his fourth wicket of the match when he bowled Petersen. This Rajasthan team is certainly a team to watch out for in the tournament. They have been through some terrible time after IPL 2013, but their each and every player is making sure to lift the morale of the entire team by delivering pivotal individual performances.


Over 15 || Score 120/6

The Lions scored 40 more runs in the last five overs but also lost three crucial wickets, all of set batsmen. Pravin Tambe did the maximum damage as the scalped all the three wickets. While he dismissed Viljoen (24) in his first over, he struck twice in his second to send Symes and Tanvir back to the pavilion. While Petersen is still at the crease batting on 40, the Lions have an uphill task ahead of them as they now need 64 runs from the last five overs.


Over 10 || Score 80/3

Petersen and Viljoen have added 46 runs in the last five overs in what was a spectacular comeback from the Lions. Viljoen got a life as he was dropped by Rahul Dravid at wide of long-on. After losing three quick wickets, the Lions are now on the driving seat. They now need 104 runs in the last ten overs.


Over 5 || Score 36/3

Shane Watson got the first breakthrough for Rajasthan when Quinton de Kock edged one to the keeper in the fourth over. In the fifth over, Vikramjeet Malik picked wickets of consecutive balls as first van der Dussen and then Bavuma perished within no time. Hardus Viljoen is now at the crease with skipper Alviro Petersen.


Over 20 || Score 183/5

The Lions bowlers managed to keep things before the last over. Sohail Tanvir had given just 15 runs from his first three overs, but Brad Hodge went after his left-arm pace bowling in the last over as the Australian clobbered him for 20 runs in the last five balls of the innings. From 162/3 in 19, the Royals have reached to an extremely formidable score and it has been a team effort so far.

Brad Hodge 46* (23b) Ashok Menaria 6* (8b)


Over 15 || Score 119/4

After the dismissal of Dravid, Shane Watson and Stuart Binny hit some massive blows before Watson played one high in the air that landed safely into the hands of Symes at wide of long-on. Before being dismissed, Watson scored 33 runs from 24 balls. In Phangiso’s third over, the Australian launched him for two sixes and a boundary.


Over 10 || Score 69/3

Rajasthan Royals suffered another blow as Samson was dismissed by Tsotsobe. Watson and Dravid tried to rescue the innings as they added 31 runs for the third wicket before the Royals skipper hit one straight to cover. The Royals added 36 runs in the last five overs.


Over 5 || Score 33/1

Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane got Rajasthan to a decent start as they added 21 runs for the first wicket before Rahane was dismissed by Sohail Tanvir. Sanju Samson has come to the crease to accompany his skipper.


Rajasthan are a formidable side and almost invincible on their home ground in Jaipur. They will be high on confidence after defeating Mumbai Indians in their first match.

The Lions on the other hand were left disappointed after their first match was washed off due to rain. The Lions squad boasts of some big names which play for the national squad and they would be desperate to register their first victory of the tournament.


Lions (From): Alviro Petersen(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Temba Bavuma, Gulam Bodi, Neil McKenzie, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Ethan O`Reilly, Hardus Viljoen, Rassie van der Dussen, Aaron Phangiso, Dwaine Pretorius, Jean Symes, Imran Tahir, Sohail Tanvir, Thami Tsolekile

Rajasthan (From): Rahul Dravid(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson(w), Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, Brad Hodge, Ashok Menaria, James Faulkner, Kevon Cooper, Vikramjeet Malik, Rahul Shukla, Dishant Yagnik, Pravin Tambe, Shaun Tait