CL T20 2013: Chennai Super Kings vs Trinidad and Tobago - As it happened...


Zee Media Bureau



Trinidad & Tobago innings:

Over 15.1 || Score 119/2

Trinidad & Tobago have comprehensively won the match by eight wickets. Simmons was dismissed by Ashwin after he slammed him for another six over long-off. MS Dhoni’s boys were clueless today as they were defending a low score. So the CSK have been beaten for the first time in the tournament and with this victory, Trinidad & Tobago also advanced into the semis!

LMP Simmons c Sharma b Ashwin 63 (41b)


Over 10 || Score

CSK are still searching for their first breakthrough as both the Trinidad openers – Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis are looking in fine touch at the moment. They have now added 79 runs for the first wicket and Simmons smashed Jadeja for two sixes and a boundary in the tenth over of the innings. This should be a convincing victory for them as CSK bowlers continue to leak runs.


Over 5 || Score 34/0

The Trinidad openers have got their side to a great start as they have added unbeaten 34 runs in the first five overs. Considering the kind of total they are chasing, this has been an excellent start so far.


Chennai Super Kings innings:

Over 20 || Score 118/

Considering their formidable batting line-up, 118 is a below par score for the Chennai Super Kings. They have been unbeaten in the tournament so far but this is CSK’s best chance to chase down the total and advance to the semis. But the Chennai bowlers for sure will put a fight.

R Ashwin run out 9 (5b)

JO Holder c Simmons b Emrit 0 (1b)

S Badrinath run out 3 (5b)

JA Morkel b Rampaul 4 (16b)

MS Dhoni c Simmons b Emrit 25 (25b)


Over 15 || Score 93/5

CSK lost three wickets of key players in quick successions as Suresh Raina was first dismissed by Simmons as he hit one straight to the fielder at short fine leg. Dwayne Bravo who hasn’t got many opportunities to bat in the tournament failed with the bat as he edged one to the keeper after playing just four balls. The next wicket to fall was of Ravindra Jadeja who was run-out. 21 runs have been scored in the last five overs but with Dhoni still at the crease, any score is possible.

RA Jadeja run out 3 (6b)

DJ Bravo c Ramdin b Emrit 2 (4b)

SK Raina c Rampaul b Simmons 38 (29b)


Over 10 || Score 72/2

Murali Vijay was the next wicket to fall as he dragged Lendl Simmons’ first ball onto the stumps. Two of CSK’s most dangerous batsman – MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina are at the crease, 27 runs scored in the last five overs.

M Vijay b Simmons 27 (24b)


Over 5 || Score 25/1

Ravi Rampaul got his side to a great start as he dismissed in-form Michael Hussey off a delivery that breached the gap between the bad and the bad and uprooted the off-stump! Suresh Raina is the new man in.

MEK Hussey b Rampaul 1 (2b)


Toss: Trinidad & Tobago won the toss and Denesh Ramdin decided to bowl first.

Chennai would be high on confidence after being unbeaten in the tournament and even though they are into the semis, complacency shouldn’t be on their minds as they take on Trinidad and Tobago in New Delhi. All the key players for CSK – MS Dhoni, Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina have proven their mettle once again in the tournament and they even Murali Vijay was amongst the runs in their previous match against Brisbane Heats where he scored 42 runs.

It’s an extremely crucial match for Trinidad & Tobago as the fourth spot for semis is still up for grabs. They will seal their ticket if they win the match or if they lose it by less than five runs. Chennai will play the second semi-final against Mumbai Indians who defeated Perth Scorchers earlier in the day to advance into the semis.

Chennai Squad: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Murali Vijay, Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Albie Morkel, Jason Holder, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Faf du Plessis, Chris Morris, Imtiyaz Ahmed, Wriddhiman Saha

Trinidad and Tobago Squad: Denesh Ramdin (c & wk), Lendl Simmons, Evin Lewis, Darren Bravo, Nicolas Pooran, Navin Stewart, Sunil Narine, Jason Mohammed, Rayad Emrit, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree, Shannon Gabriel, Yannick Ottley, Adrian Barath, Sherwin Ganga