CL T20 Qualifiers: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kandurata Maroons - As it happened...


Zee Media Bureau

Live updates from the Champions League T20 qualifiers match being played between Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kandurata Maroons.



Sunrisers Hyderabad innings:

Over 18.3 || Score 174/2

Capitalising on a brilliant opening stand, Sunrisers Hyderabad started off their Champions League T20 campaign in style as they convincingly defeated the Kandurata Maroons by 8 wickets.

After the fall of Parthiv Patel’s wicket, Dhawan continued the carnage which finally ended when he attempted a reverse-sweet off Mendis but mistimed it straight to Kulasekara. But Thisara Perera, who is known to hit massive strokes lived up to the reputation and smashed his countryman Kulasekara for a boundary and a six off consecutive balls for the winning runs.

Thisara Perera 32* (11b) Jean-Paul Duminy 6* (6b)


Over 131/1 || Score

The 121-run partnership for the first wicket was finally broken by Shehan Jayasuriya after Parthiv Patel hit one straight to long-on. The dismissal has probably come too late for the Maroons as Dhawan is still at the crease and Hyderabad now need just 38 runs from the last five overs with nine wickets remaining.

Shikhar Dhawan 68* (48b)


Over 10 || Score 92/0

And the openers are getting better with every stroke and Sangakkara would now be wondering whether his team’s total is short by 20-30 runs. Meanwhile these two are looking unstoppable at the moment and the partnership would now be hurting the Maroons.


Over 5 || Score 44/0

As expected, the wicket has got better and so has Shikhar Dhawan. The Hyderabad skipper along with wicket-keeper batsman Parthiv Patel has punished the Maroons’ bowlers with all sorts of shots. These two have already added a 44-run stand and that too at some quick pace.


Kandurata Maroons innings:

Over 20 || Score 168/3

The Maroons have reached a formidable total as a result of another captain’s knock from Kumar Sangakkara who remained unbeaten on 59 after 20 overs. Dilhara who was promoted in the batting order hit some big strokes in his 10-ball 21. The wicket is supposed to get easier to bat on and all eyes would now be on Shikhar Dhawan.


Over 15 || Score 112/2

Both Sanga and Thirimanne adopted a positive approach ever since they came at the crease, and they have been rewarded for their intent as these two added another 46 runs in the last five overs. For reasons unknown, Dhawan introduced Amit Mishra into the attack in the 15th over of the innings, which means the leg-spinner won’t be able to complete his quota of four overs.


Over 10 || Score 66/2

Skipper Kumar Sangakkara and Thirimanne have come to the rescue of their side as they have added unbeaten 33 runs for the third wicket. Both the left-handers aren’t hesitating to use their feet every now and then to loose deliveries.


Over 5 || Score 33/2

Kandurata Maroons got off to a great start as Tharanga hit some superb strokes in the beginning of the innings. The left-hander was finally dismissed by Ishant Sharma as he edged one to Parthiv Patel behind the stumps. Shehan Jayasuriya was the next batsman to be dismissed as he was trying to play a cut shot but managed just an edge to the keeper.


It will be a Test for Shikhar Dhawan when he will lead the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the qualifier match against the Kandurata Maroons. Meanwhile on an interesting note, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s regular skipper Kumar Sangakkara will lead the Kandurata Maroons. Both the teams have some formidable batsmen and even their bowling attack is good enough to make it a contest.


Hyderabad (From): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Parthiv Patel(w), Cameron White, Jean-Paul Duminy, Dale Steyn, Darren Sammy, Biplab Samantray, Thisara Perera, Karan Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Ashish Reddy, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Anand Rajan

Kandurata (From): Lahiru Thirimanne(c), Kumar Sangakkara(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Lahiru Jayaratne, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Ajantha Mendis, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Silva, Shehan Jayasuriya, Thilina Kandamby, Upul Tharanga, Nuwan Kulasekara