CLT20 2013: Chennai Super Kings vs Titans - As it happened

Updated: Sep 22, 2013, 17:44 PM IST

Zee Media Bureau



CSK innings

Over 18.5 || Score 187/6

CSK sealed an easy win over Titans. Capitalising on the partnership between Raina and Hussey, CSK won the match by four wickets. Hussey and Raina remained the highest scorer for their team with the score of 47 each. Richards was the most successful bowler for the losing team as he took three wickets. CSK chased the total in just 18.5 overs.

RA Jadeja b Richards 0 (2b)

MS Dhoni c de Villiers b Richards 7 (8b)

DJ Bravo c Mosehle b Richards 38 (26b)


Over 15 || Score 155/3

Badrinath and Bravo are playing sensible cricket at the moment. And in the 15th over they take team’s score to 150 plus. Bravo is on 23 while Bardrinath is batting on 18. From here on CSK need 31 runs to win this match and they have 30 balls.


Over 10 || Score 114/3

Raina scored 47 runs in just 28 deliveries before giving his wicket to Wiese. After Raina, Hussey also got out after the gap of one over, after playing a blistering knock of 47 runs in mere 26 balls with the help of seven fours and a six. Now two new batsmen are at the crease for CSK – S Badrinath and Dwayne Bravo.

MEK Hussey c de Villiers b Morkel 47 (26b)

SK Raina c Morkel b Wiese 47 (28b)


Over 5 || Score 65/1

CSK got off to a flying start. Even after losing the first wicket in the third ball of the innings, in the form of Murali Vijay, Hussey and Raina are playing fearless cricket. Raina who came in to join Hussey in the middle after the fall of M Vijay’s wicket is looking in good nick and has started scoring boundaries from the word go. In the fourth over CSK crossed the mark of 50 runs. Titans bowlers are clueless at the moment. Raina is on 34 in just 18 balls and Hussey is playing on 20 after facing 11 deliveries.

M Vijay b van der Merwe 0 (1b)


Titans innings

Over 20 || Score 185/1

Cracking innings by AB helped Titans to put a total of 185 runs in front of the Chennai Super Kings. He scored 77 runs in mere 36 balls, with the help of seven sixes and three boundaries. He scored boundaries at will and displayed his unique and effective style of play to give the CSK bowlers a tough time. It would be a difficult total to chase for the Chennai side.

AB de Villiers c Bravo b Jadeja 77 (36b)

D Wiese c Ashwin b Bravo 0 (2b)

F Behardien c Holder b Bravo 21 (14b)


Over 15 || Score 135/2

Marvelous innings by opener Davids has given the right platform for the Titans to place a big total in front of the Chennai team. Davids scored 52 runs in 43 balls before giving his wicket to Ashwin. AB is also playing a blistering knock as he has reached 44 in mere 22 balls. Titans are heading towards a big total.

H Davids st Dhoni b Ashwin 52 (43b)


Over 10 || Score 72/1

Titans haven’t lost many wickets in the first ten overs and added 72 runs on the board. Now as they have wickets in hand they should start scoring runs quickly. Davids is at the crease and has scored 37 runs in 35 balls, thus far. Along with him is the swashbuckling batsman AB de Villiers, who is playing on 10 runs in just 8 balls. Chennai team got their first breakthrough in the form of J Rudolph, who got run out after scoring 21 runs.

JA Rudolph run out 21 (17b)


Over 5 || Score 22/0

A steady start by the Titans openers. Both of them are playing cautiously but at the same time sending the loose balls towards the boundaries. In the first five overs Titans added 22 runs without losing a wicket.


Dhoni is playing at his home ground Ranchi and crowd has thronged the stadium to support the local star. Dhoni has decided to bowl first due to the due factor as he explains that it would be even difficult to bowl in the second innings as due will only get worse as the match progresses.

Toss: Dhoni has won the toss and elected to bowl first.


Chennai: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, S Badrinath, Imtiyaz Ahmed, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma, Michael Hussey, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Jason Holder, Faf du Plessis, Chris Morris

Titans:Henry Davids (c), Heino Kuhn (wk), David Wiese, Eden Links, Ethy Mbhalati, Rowan Richards, Mangaliso Mosehle, Cornelius de Villiers, Graeme van Buuren, Morne Morkel, Roelof van der Merwe, Marchant de Lange, Farhaan Behardien, AB de Villiers, Jacques Rudolph