CLT20 2013: Trinidad and Tobago vs Brisbane Heat - As it happened...

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2013, 15:55 PM IST

Zee Media Bureau



Brisbane Heat innings

Over 18.4 || Score 110

T&T defended their total of 135 runs quite successfully after Brisbane got all out at 110 runs in just 18.4 runs. T&T won the match by 25 runs. Strike bowler Rampaul bowled magnificently and took four wickets in just 3.4 overs and gave away just 14 runs. J Burns remained the highest scorer for Brisbane as he scored 45 runs.

AC McDermott b Rampaul 0 (1b)

NM Hauritz c Simmons b Rampaul 0 (1b)

BCJ Cutting run out 17 (10b)

CJM Sabburg c Bravo b Emrit 3 (5b)

JA Burns b Rampaul 45 (43b)

Over 15 || Score 85/4

In the 12th and 13th over Brisbane scored 12 runs each. But in the next over Christian got trapped in front of the wicket off Emrit. In the next over mystery spinner, Sunil Narine gave his team a double breakthrough when he first sent Lynn and then Hartley towards the pavilion, in the same over.

CD Hartley b Narine 3 (3b)

CA Lynn c Ramdin b Narine 4 (4b)

DT Christian lbw b Emrit 13 (13b)


Over 10 || Score 47/2

In the 9th over Brisbane collected 9 runs and in the next scored seven. JA Burns is on 19 and along with him Christian is at the crease, who is playing on 7.

Over 7.5 || Score 31/1

T&T are at a good position. Badree took the wicket of PJ Forrest in the 8th over, who scored 16 runs in 21 balls. Momentum is with T&T. But in a T20 match you never know. A good knock can change the fortunes. But at the moment T&T have the upper edge.

PJ Forrest c Ganga b Badree 16 (21b)


Play interrupted as the floodlights have gone off


Over 5 || Score 17/1

T&T bowlers are bowling at a tight line and not giving any easy runs to Brisbane. In the third over Rampaul gave his team the first breakthrough by sending back skipper Hopes to the pavilion, who only managed to score four runs. In first five overs Brisbane only managed to score 17 runs and even loss a wicket as well.

JR Hopes b Rampaul 4 (9b)


T&T innings

Over 20 || Score 135/9

Brisbane Heat bowlers bowled at a tight line and gave very few chances to T&T batsmen to cut loose. Ramdin was the highest scorer for T&T, who scored 48 runs in mere 38 balls, with the help of two sixes and four boundaries. Though in the last over Badree hit two sixes to take the teams score to a respectable total of 135 runs. McDermott took four wickets and gave just 37 runs in his four over quota to become the most successful bowler for his team. Bowlers have done their bid now the onus is on Brisbane Heat’s batsmen to chase the total successfully.

D Ramdin c Lynn b Cutting 48 (38b)

RR Emrit c Hartley b McDermott 0 (1b)

SP Narine c Sabburg b McDermott 8 (11b)


Over 15 || Score 97/6
Hauritz gave a double blow to T&T. In the 11th over first he sent back Mohammed in the first ball and then S Ganga on the next and conceded just one run from the over. Christian too bowled a brilliant next over and leaked just one run. In the 13th over Hauritz once again bowed a tight line and given away just four runs. Christian took his first wicket in the next over in the form of N Pooran, who only managed to score 8 runs in 16 balls. Now the onus is on Ramdin to take his team to a fighting total. He is on 37.

N Pooran c Hartley b Christian 8 (16b)

S Ganga c & b Hauritz 0 (1b)

JN Mohammed c Burns b Hauritz 10 (15b)


Over 10 || Score 71/3

In the seventh over T&T crossed the mark of 50 runs. J Mohammed and skipper Ramdin are at the crease. Ramdin has to play captains knock here. First ball off the 8th over and Ramdin launched Hauritz towards the long on boundary for a maximum and collected 11 runs from the over. In last five overs T&T scored 33 runs without losing a wicket.


Over 5 || Score 38/3

In the first over bowled by the skipper James Hopes, T&T openers collected 10 runs. Lewis scored the first boundary of the innings in the fourth ball of the over towards on-side. In the next over Roach gave just 4 runs. But in the third Simmons hit three back-to-back boundaries off McDermott before giving his wicket to him in the next ball. In the next over Lewis collected two boundaries off Roach. But in last ball of the over Roach sent back DM Bravo towards the pavilion. In the fifth over McDermott collected another wicket in the form of E Lewis. Poor start for T&T as they have lost three wickets in first five overs.

E Lewis c Cutting b McDermott 19 (19b)

DM Bravo c Hartley b Roach 0 (2b)

LMP Simmons b McDermott 14 (7b)


Toss: James Hopes has won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Brisbane Heat are without Luke Pomersbach, Ryan Harris, Shane Watson, Mitchell Johnson and Thisara Perera. It would be a difficult task for them to beat T&T. S Narine will be the trump card for T&T.




James Hopes (c), Chris Hartley (wk), Joe Burns, Daniel Christian, Ben Cutting, Peter Forrest, Dominic Michael, Nathan Hauritz, Matthew Gale, Chris Lynn, Alister McDermott, Cameron Gannon, Alex Kemp, Kemar Roach, Chris Sabburg, Bradley Ipson

Trinidad and Tobago

Denesh Ramdin (c & wk), Nicolas Pooran, Rayad Emrit, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis, Samuel Badree, Navin Stewart, Shannon Gabriel, Yannick Ottley, Adrian Barath, Sherwin Ganga, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Bravo