Chirayu Amin replaces Modi as interim IPL chief

Zeecric Bureau

Mumbai: The Indian Premier League (IPL) Governing Council meet ended with board president Shashank Manohar announcing that all the allegations against suspended chief Lalit Modi would be probed into until he can convince the members of his innocence.

Shashank Manohar told reporters, “There had been a lot of allegations and counter allegations in the last few days. The board looked into the allegations and decided to issue a show cause notice against Lalit Modi. Suspension of Modi was necessary to conduct a free and fair enquiry.”

He added, “As the tournament was on, we did not want to disrupt it, so we decided to send the notice after the IPL finals. A committee comprising Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri and Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi to decide modalities for IPL 4.”

BCCI has appointed the above said interim committee to run the affairs of the billion dollar Twenty20 league after its chairman and commissioner Lalit Modi was suspended on 22 charges of impropriety, and Chirayu Amin Antali has been named interim IPL commissioner.

Addressing a press conference after the meeting, Manohar said Modi would be charged on five counts -- shady initial bids of Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab, a suspect
broadcast deal with Sony, bid rigging of two new franchises this year and his behavioral pattern.

"The names of Shilpa Shetty and Raj Kundra are not on the owners list, as popularly claimed. The chargesheet was discussed and the Committee also appointed Chirayu Amin as the interim chairman. BCCI CAO Ratnakar Shetty will look into all the records," Manohar said.

Manohar also said that some important documents were missing from the Board and IPL offices.

"Many documents are missing from the IPL and BCCI offices. Income Tax department has been asking for them but we don`t have them. Like the papers of the broadcast deal with Sony are not with us. IT department is asking for these documents but we can`t give them because they are not with us," Manohar said.

BCCI president Shashank Manohar suspended Modi, who has 15 days to reply to all the charges levelled against him.

Thirteen members of the Governing Council, sans Modi, under the chairmanship of Manohar were present at the meeting at the Cricket Centre in Wankhede Stadium.

The other members of the Governing Council are Punjab Cricket Association chief Inderjit Singh Bindra, BCCI treasurer M.P. Pandove, vice presidents Chirayu Amin, Rajeev Shukla, Arjun Jaitley, board secretary N. Srinivasan, joint secretary Sanjay Jagdale, Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association chief Farooq Abdullah, IPL vice-chairman Niranjan Shah and former India captains Ravi Shastri, Gavaskar and Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link