Clarke wins second consecutive Allan Border Medal

Last Updated: Feb 04, 2013, 19:04 PM IST

Zeenews Sports Bureau

Melbourne: Australian captain Michael Clarke won his fourth Allan Border Medal at a ceremony in Melbourne on Monday.

Clarke and his predecessor Ricky Ponting, are the only players to have won the medal four times.

The 31-year old won for the second consecutive year with 198 votes. Mike Hussey and two-time winner Shane Watson, who each polled 165 votes, finished joint runners- up.

Clarke also won the Test cricketer of the year award for the second year in a row for scoring 1,080 runs at an average of 77.14 in the nine Tests covered by the voting period.

All rounder Shane Watson won the Twenty20 award and the ODI honour went to pace-man Clint McKay.