Dalmiya remains CAB chief, Kapil may help Bengal bowlers

Kolkata: Cricket Association of Bengal president Jagmohan Dalmiya today defeated his opponent in a one-sided contest to remain in power for a fifth consecutive term and announced plans to get the service of 1983 World Cup- winning captain Kapil Dev to help the state`s fast bowlers.

"We are serious about getting his service. I`ve spoken to him this morning. But we are yet to finalise anything," an elated Dalmiya told reporters after the election.

He defeated Samar Paul by an overwhelming 104-14 margin in the only contest that marked a low-key 81st AGM.

The former ICC and BCCI chief never lost any election in CAB after he held the top post since 1992-93 except for 19 months from December 2006 to July 2008 when the Sharad Pawar- led BCCI expelled him following fund embezzlement charges.

Dalmiya had returned to power in 2008, ousting Prasun Mukherjee, the then Commissioner of Police in Kolkata.

This was for only the second time in five years that the 72-year-old, with about three decades at the helm of different international and national cricket organisations, faced an opposition from Paul, a joint-secretary in 2007-08.

For the association, which had witnessed some bitter contests like in 2006 when Dalmiya pipped the then chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee-backed Mukherjee by five votes, this was one of the dullest AGMs.

Sourav Ganguly, representing Barisha Club, was the star attraction while West Bengal Housing minister Arup Biswas (Tollygunge Agragami) and Trinamool MP Subrata Baxi (Bhowanipore) added political colours.

Besides the one-off fight, there was a reshuffle with joint-secretary Biswarup Dey and treasurer Subir Ganguly interchanging their roles. Sujan Mukherjee will continue as the other joint secretary while Alok Nandi, Sambhu Nath Poddar, Malay Basu and Subhas Kundu are the vice-presidents.

The CAB`s electorate comprises 121 votes -- 94 first and second division Kolkata clubs, 18 district units, eight universities, and a vote from the Office Sports Federation.

The office-bearers:

President: Jagmohan Dalmiya; Vice-presidents: Sambhu Nath Poddar, Alok Nandy, Malay Kumar Basu, Subhas Kundu; Joint-secretaries: Sujan Mukherjee, Subir Ganguly; Treasurer: Biswarup Dey.