Dalmiya set for another term in CAB

Kolkata: Seasoned cricket administrator Jagmohan Dalimya is set to be the president of Cricket Association of Bengal for the fourth time in a row, as CAB`s 80th AGM would be held on Wednesday.

The 71-year-old Dalmiya who has spent about three decades at the helm of different international and national cricket organisations had faced an opposition only once in the past four years.

Incumbent Prasun Mukherjee, the then Commissioner of Police, contested against Dalmiya in 2008 and since then he is winning unchallenged. This year, too, it will not be any different.

Dalmiya and his panel are set for their fourth term in succession.

Last year too there was nobody to challenge Dalmiya, though even there were talks of former India captain Sourav Ganguly contesting against Dalmiya.

Ganguly represented last year`s AGM through Mohammadan Sporting to add some sheen to the lacklustre affair.

With no Ganguly, who is busy with his commentary stint in India`s tour of England, Wednesday`s AGM is set to be another dull show.

Ganguly, representing Barisha Athletic Club, however, will be part of CAB`s much important working committee for 2011-12.

This will be Dalmiya`s fourth consecutive year at CAB helm after returning to the post with a convincing win over Mukherjee in 2008 elections.

There will be no political presence this time. Two Union leaders, Sultan Ahmed and Mukul Roy, took part in the annual show last year.

It`s really an aberration from the past especially when CAB had witnessed some bitter contests like in 2006 when Dalmiya pipped then CM Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee-backed candidate Prasun Mukherjee by five votes.

Synonymous with Bengal cricket, Dalmiya never lost in CAB, though he had to step down in December that year after a ban by the Sharad Pawar-led BCCI on embezzelment charges.

Known as a master negotiator, Dalmiya was the first Asian chief of the ICC (1997-2000) before becoming secretary of the BCCI (1993-1996) and then president (2001-2005).

The former ICC and BCCI supremo never lost any election after he held the top post since 1992-93 except for a 19-month break from end December 2006 to the middle of 2008.

The CAB`s electorate comprises 121 votes; 94 first and second division Kolkata clubs, 18 district units, eight universities, and a vote from the Office Sports Federation.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link