Delhi register their fourth win beating Haryana by 4 wkts

New Delhi: Hosts Delhi registered their fourth win in the North Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy beating Haryana by four wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla ground.

Delhi, who are through to the knock-out round now have 19 points from four games but this was the first match where they couldn`t manage a bonus point.

Chasing a modest score of 214, Delhi batsmen made a rough weather of an easy target as they won with three balls to spare. It was skipper Rajat Bhatia who finished the proceedings with a hige six over mid-wicket off Harshal Patel`s bowling.

For Delhi, youngster Mohit Sharma (56, 65 balls, 5x4) was the top-scorer while Punit Bisht (33), Milind Kumar (39) got out after getting set. With pitch slowing down considerably, shot-making wasn`t easy.

When Haryana batted, it was Parvinder Awana (3/31) who again bowled his heart out while Ashish Nehra (1/57) was unlucky with as many as three catches being dropped off his bowling. Rahul Dewan, who opens for Haryana in Ranji Trophy batted in the middle-order and top-scored with 56 off 89 ballswith three fours.

The other significant contribution came from Sachin Rana (47, 80 balls, 4x4, 1x6). Left-arm spinner Pawan Suyal and left-arm spinner Varoon Sood also chipped in with a wicket each.

Brief Scores: Haryana 213/6 (R Dewan 56, S Rana 47, P Awana 3/31, A Nehra 1/57).

Delhi 219/6 (Mohit Sharma 56, M Kumar 39). delhi won by 4 wkts.

Points: Delhi 4; Haryana 0.