This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Deodhar: Surya Yadav replaces injured Nayar in West squad

Mumbai: Attacking middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav has replaced his Mumbai teammate Abhishek Nayar in the West Zone squad for the Prof D B Deodhar Trophy tournament commencing in Vishakapatnam from Sunday.

The replacement was necessitated due to an injury sustained by Nayar, according to Mumbai Cricket Association Joint Secretary P V Shetty.

Shetty, however, did not elaborate on the nature of Nayar`s injury.

West, to be led by Saurashtra and India batsman Cheteshwar Pujara, are the defending champions and bidding for a hat-trick of titles in the annual 50-over inter-zonal tournament.

The West Zone has won the title on 11 occasions previously.

West have been given a bye into the semi-finals of the tournament, which concludes on March 27.

Meanwhile, the all-India T20 tournament for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be held in Mumbai and Rajkot from April 8 to 14, according to sources.

The league phase will be organised between April 8 and 12 followed by the final here on April 14.

Two teams from each of the five zones would qualify for the all-India phase.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions