Dhoni indirectly suggests that India correct to be wary of DRS

London: While the International Cricket Council (ICC) and Cricket Australia (CA) have described Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga`s five-ball over as an honest mistake made by the on field umpire, Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has said indirectly that India is justified in not relying on the Decision Review System (DRS).

"There have been five-ball overs in the past, but we have seen the third umpire interfere and you have to come back and bowl that ball," Dhoni said.

"Usually that`s what has happened to us also. It didn`t happen in this game, fair enough. Nothing much can be done now," he added.

"I don`t know (if India would have won) because you could have had a dot ball. It happens in cricket, so maybe it would have been a dot," Dhoni said.

Dhoni said: "It`s done and dusted. That`s what is important. We can create a big fuss out of it but what`s the point?"

However, taking aim at the DRS, the Indian skipper said: "If this can happen then I don`t know why people back DRS so much."

"We have seen people happy with DRS in one series as long as it goes in their favour. Once it doesn`t go in their favour, they are quite unhappy about it," he added.

The International Cricket Council dismissed the incident as ``a straightforward, honest mistake by the umpiring team," The Fox News reports.

Cricket Australia said: "International umpires, like international players, perform to a high level but like players, they are human and make mistakes from time to time. But once a decision is made, it`s made and we get on with the game." The five balls were delivered in the 30th over of the match, which ended in a tie.

Bureau Report

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link