16 teams to compete in Buchi Babu cricket

Chennai: Fourteen state teams, including city and districts squads would vie for honours in the All India Buchi Babu Memorial Cricket tournament starting here on Tuesday.

The 16 teams have been divided into four zones of as many teams each with all playing three matches in the league stage, which will give the players ample opportunity to impress upon the selectors of the state teams before the start of the Ranji season.

The top team from each zone will qualify for the semi-finals, which will be played on knock-out basis. The final would be played on Aug 30.

"There was overwhelming response and TNCA had to restrict the entries to sixteen teams only. Due to time constraint all the matches will be of two days duration restricted to 90 overs per innings," Tamil Nadu Cricket Association secretary Kasi Viswanathan said in a release here today.

All matches will be played on turf wickets in grounds situated in and around the city. To the extent possible, the matches will be umpired by BCCI Panel Umpires, the release added.

The prize money for the winners and runners will be Rs one lakh and Rs 50,000 respectively and Rs 25,000 each will be given to the losing semi-finalists.

Appearance money of Rs 7,500 per match will be given to the participating outstation teams.


Group-A: Mumbai, Orissa, Andhra and Districts.

Group-B: Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and City XI.

Group-C: Assam, Kerala, Saurashtra and Uttar Pradesh and

Group-D: Hyderabad, Punjab, Vidharbha and Tamil Nadu.