Bengal defeats Orissa in Women`s cricket championship

Dhanbad: Defending champion Bengal defeated Orissa on Tuesday by seven wickets in East Zone senior inter-state women`s cricket championship at Railway stadium here.

In another match Jharkhand stopped the victory run of Tripura by beating them by 48 runs at Digwadih stadium.

Batting first after winning the toss, Orissa scored 101 for 9 wickets in 50 over. In reply, Bengal scored the required run in 35.5 overs, losing three wickets.

At Railway stadium, Mandira (27) and Ananya (22 not out) steered Bengal to post 7 wickets victory over Orissa. Mandira`s 27 came in 46 balls with the help of four hits to the fence. Paromita Roy contributed 21 runs in Bengal`s victory.

Roshan Parveen took two wickets for Orissa.

Earlier with the help of Kadambini`s 47 runs, Orissa scored 101 runs. Kadambini`s 47 came with six boundaries. Madhu Smita and Shubhlaxmi contributed 19 and 10 runs respectively. Jhulan Goswami and Archana Das took two wickets each conceding 14 and 25 runs respectively.

At Digwadih stadium, Jharkhand scored 196 for 8. In reply Tripura were all out for 148 in 49 overs. Jharkhand`s Seema Singh was the architect of the team`s victory who scored 69 runs with the help of 8 boundaries. Kavita Roy chipped in with 40 runs.

Rita Deb Burman of Tripura took 3 wickets for 18 while captain Anapurna claimed 2 for 43. Ganga was highest scorer with 35 and Reema Chakravarti scored 33 in just 43 balls for Tripura.

Rini Burman of Jharkhand took 4 for 29 in 9 over.