Duleep Trophy: Jaffer to lead West Zone, Yusuf named deputy
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 00:49
Duleep Trophy: Jaffer to lead West Zone, Yusuf named deputyMumbai: Veteran Mumbai batsman Wasim Jaffer was named captain of the West Zone squad for the upcoming Duleep Trophy tournament.

Baroda all-rounder Yusuf Pathan will be Jaffer`s deputy in a 15-member squad that has talented Gujarat batsman Manprit Juneja, who recently struck a brilliant 193 against New Zealand A in a four-day unofficial `Test` at Visakhapatnam.

West would clash with South Zone in the opening four- day quarter-final game commencing at Chennai on October 3.

The winners of this match would clash with Central Zone in the semi-final, also scheduled at Chennai, from October 10-13.

The final is to be played from October 17-21 at Kochi, said a media release from selection meeting convener Nitin Dalal.

West Zone team: Wasim Jaffer (Captain, Mumbai), Harshad Khadiwale (Maharashtra), Aditya Waghmode (Baroda), Hiken Shah (Mumbai), Manpreet Juneja (Gujarat), Ankit Bawne (Maharashtra), Yusuf Pathan (Vice-captain, Baroda), Suryakumar Yadav (Mumbai), Rohit Motwani (WK, Maharashtra), Kamlesh Makwana (Saurashtra), Samad Falla (Maharashtra), Murtuza Vora (Baroda), Jaydev Unadkat (Saurashtra), Rakesh Dhruv (Gujarat) and Akshay Darekar (Maharashtra). Coach: Hitesh Goswami (Saurashtra).


First Published: Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 00:49

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in News