Harbhajan to lead North in Deodhar Trophy

New Delhi: Out-of-favour India spinner Harbhajan Singh will captain the North Zone team in the Prof. D B Deodhar Trophy limited overs inter zonal knockout tournament to be played at Visakhapatnam from March 23.

Another player trying to make a comeback to the Indian team, Gautam Gambhir has been named vice captain.

North Zone will meet South Zone in a semifinal match on March 24. The Vikram Rathour-led North Zone slection committee picked the team during a meeting at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on Tuesday.

Team: Harbhajan Singh (capt), Gautam Gambhir (vice captain), Prashant Chopra, Virender Sehwag, Rajat Paliwal, Mandeep Singh, Milind Kumar, Gurkirat Singh Mann, Parveez Rasool, Rishi Dhawan, Ishant Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Ashish Nehra, A Sakuja, Nitin Saini.