Haryana all out for 316; Himachal’s Thakkar hits fifty

Dharamsala: An unbeaten half century by opener Bhavin Thakkar propelled Himachal Pradesh to 85 for two after the hosts restricted Haryana to 316 in their first innings on the second day of the Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match at HPCA stadium here today.

Himachal started their proceedings on a shaky note as they lost opener Sangram Singh (10) and VA Indulkar (0) in quick succession with scoreline reading 36 for 2.

Pacer Sanjay Budhwar accounted for both the wickets, first disturbing the stumps of Sangram and then having Indulkar caught by Kuldeep Dewan.

Thakkar (58 not out) then combined with captain Paras Dogra to resurrect the innings as both stitched an unbeaten 39-run partnership for the third wicket to deny the visitors any further success.

Thakkar was cautious in his approach and took his time to score runs. He struck 11 boundaries during his unbeaten 134 balls stay at the crease. Dogra (12) has two fours to his name.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 204 for four, Haryana was dealt a severe blow when their in-form batsman Hemang Badani (65) was caught by Manvinder Bisla off Ashok Thakur at 216 on board.

Badani added only six runs to his overnight score before heading back to pavilion. He struck nine fours and a six in his 183 balls stay at the crease.

Joginder Sharma (21) then teamed up with overnight batsman Dhruv Singh (39) to add valuable 51 runs for the sixth wicket.

Kuldeep Diwan provided the much needed breakthrough by having Sharma lbw. Minutes later, Sangram Singh scalped the vital wicket of Dhruv to left Haryana tottering at 267 for seven.

Dhruv struck four fours while Sharma three.

Ajit Chandila (12) and wicketkeeper Sandeep Singh (14) tried to build a partnership but the duo was soon separated by pacer Mukesh Sharma, who disturbed the stumps of Chandila.

Ashish Hooda (4) too did not last long and was caught by Sangram off Mukesh at 289.

Sanjay Budhwar (18) and Sandeep took the Haryana total past 300-mark before Vishal Bhatia wrapped up the visitors’ innings at 316.

Brief score:

Haryana: 1st innings: 316 all out (Hemang Badani 65, Manav Sharma 49, Ashok Thakur 2/57, Mukesh Sharma 2/8)

Himachal Pradesh: 1st innings: Bhavin Thakkar 58 not out, Sanjay Budhwar 2/33).