Jaffer to lead Mumbai in Irani tie

Mumbai: Seasoned opener Wasim Jaffer will lead the 15-member Mumbai squad in the Irani Cup tie against the Rest of India at Jaipur from October 1-5.

Pacer Ajit Agarkar has been named the team`s vice captain, a media release from the Mumbai Cricket Association said on Thursday.

The 39-time Ranji Trophy champions have won the Irani Cup, the domestic season-opening fixture till the advent of the Corporate Trophy, 16 times that includes sharing the trophy in 1965-66.

But Mumbai`s last triumph in the tournament since its inception in 1959-60 was in 1997-98.

The team: Wasim Jaffer (C), Ajit Agarkar (vc), Sahil Kukreja, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Abhishek, Nayar, Ramesh Powar, Sushant Marathe (wk), Dhawal Kulkarni, Onkar Khanvilkar, Avishkar Salvi, Iqbal Abdulla, Usman Malvi, Omkar Gurav and Harmeet Singh.

Coach: Pravin Amre.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link