Jaffer to lead West Zone in Duleep Trophy

Updated: Jan 19, 2011, 22:03 PM IST

Mumbai: Former India opener and Mumbai skipper Wasim Jaffer will lead West Zone in the Duleep Trophy semi-final against North Zone.

Middle-order batsmen Rohit Sharma, who has been left out of India`s World Cup squad and Cheteshwar Pujara, who played two Tests against South Africa, are part of the squad.

Left-arm pacer Jaidev Unadkat, who recently made his Test debut against the Proteas, and India internationals Ravindra Jadeja and Parthiv Patel are also a part of the team, a statement said here today.

West Zone will take on North Zone at Vadodara from January 26 to 29. The same squad will be retained if the West Zone enters the final, which will be played from February 2-6 at Visakhapatnam, the statement added.

Team: Wasim Jaffer (captain), Parthiv Patel (WK), Jaidev Unadkat, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Sahil Kukreja, Samad Fallah, Bhargav Bhatt, Murtuza Vohara, Kedar Devdhar, Harshad Khadiwale, Pinal Shah, Ajinkya Rahane and Shrikant Munde. Coach-cum-Manager: Pandurang Salgaonkar; Physio: Abhishek Thakar.