Jharkhand beat Bengal in Vijay Hazare match

Updated: Feb 14, 2011, 21:01 PM IST

Agartala: Jharkhand defeated Bengal by eight wickets in Vijay Hazare Trophy at Maharaja Bir Bikram Stadium on Monday.

Electing to field, Bengal made 216 for nine in 50 overs with main contributions from Manoj Tiwari (59) and Wriddhiman Saha (60).

Yajuvendra Krishnatry took five for 40 for Jharkhand.

In reply, Jharkhand made 217 for two wickets with a brilliant century from Akash Verma (116) to gain the easy victory.

Brief Scores:

Bengal: 216 for nine wickets in 50 overs

Jharkhand: 217 for two wickets in 42.3 overs.