Karnataka-Haryana match ends in a draw

Rohtak: Karnataka’s Amit Verma scored an unbeaten century here on the fourth and final day on Saturday, even as the Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match between Karnataka and Haryana ended in a tame draw.

But Haryana managed to gain three points on the basis of their first innings lead, while Karnataka could take home only one point.

In reply to Karnataka’s first innings total of 222, the hosts had scored 319 in their first essay to take 97-run lead.

On Saturday, after resuming at an overnight score of 72 for one, still trailing by 25 runs, Karnataka finished the day on 409 for eight in their second innings, with Haryana yet to take the field for the second time, here at the Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium.

Overnight batsmen K B Pawan, who was unbeaten on 31, went on to score a fine 80, including eight hits to the fence and a six. And thereafter, all key Karnataka batsmen – Robin Uthappa (42), Manish Pandey (55) and Amit Verma (103 not out) as well as veteran spinner Sunil Joshi (50) chipped in with valuable contributions.

Haryana bowlers, who took the field on the final day with the aim of bundling out Karnataka at the earliest and then try to chase down the target, failed in their mission.

They were made to toil hard by the visiting team batsmen, who not only made individual contributions but also had big partnerships going.

Amit Verma played a fine knock as he remained not out on 103 from 140 balls studded with 14 fours and 4 sixes.

For Haryana, both Joginder Sharma (3 for 46) and Yuzvendra Chahal (3 for 102) took three wickets each, while Yatharth Tomar took two.

Brief Score:

Karnataka 1st innings: 222 all out in 71.2 overs
Haryana 1st innings: 319 all out in 108.2 overs
Karnataka 2nd innings: 409 for 8 in 117.1 overs (Amit Verma not out 103, KB Pawan 80, Manish Pandey 55, Sunil Joshi 50; Joginder Sharma 3/46, YS Chahal 3/102).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link