Karnataka retain Buchi Babu cricket trophy

Chennai: The defending champions Karnataka regained the Buchi Babu Memorial Cricket Trophy after beating Kerala by three wickets in a low-scoring final on Monday.

Resuming the day at 100 for four, in pursuit of Kerala`s total of 137, Karnataka added 41 runs for the loss of three in 11.3 overs to defend the title.

For Karnataka, C M Gautham contributed with a useful 27 today to help his team overcome the opponent`s first innings after both the overnight batsmen, Ganesh Satish and Amit Verma made early exits.

Rajoo Bhatkal (7 not out) and Abhimanyu Mithun (4 not out) were at the crease when the play was called off after both the teams agreed not to go through the rigours of the second innings.

Earlier led by left-arm spinner K P Appanna (4/35), Karnataka restricted Kerala to a meagre 141.

The only notable contribution for the runners-up came through the blade of Robert Fernandez (43) yesterday.

Karnataka were awarded Rs one lakh for their effort, while Kerala got richer by Rs 50,000.

Brief scores:

Kerala: 137 all out in 61.2 overs (Robert Fernandez 43; K P Appanna 4/35, Abhimanyu Mithun 3/36)

Karnataka: 141 for 7 in 33.3 overs (K B Pawan 32, Robin Uthappa 32; K R Sreejith 4/57).