Kumble team sweeps KSCA elections

Bangalore: Beginning a new era in the Indian cricket administration, former Test captain Anil Kumble was today elected as the President of the Karnataka State Cricket Association while former pace duo of Javagal Srinath and Venkatesh Prasad were elected as Secretary and Vice President respectively.

The trio were part of Indian cricket team’s several memorable on-field wins and are all set to begin new innings.

The Kumble led group swept the polls as they won 23 out of 24 posts that went to polls.

Kumble defeated Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wodeyar, a scion of the Mysore Royal family and also incumbent President, by a margin of 43 votes.

Srinath defeated former umpire AV Jayaprakash, who was one of the on-field umpires when Kumble took 10 wickets in a Test innings in Delhi, by 245 votes.

Prasad, Roger Binny and Sadanand Mayya were elected Vice-Presidents.

Out of a total of 1490 members, 1080 cast their votes, while 214 out of the 229 member clubs voted.

Binny, who was re-elected to the post, said these elections will change the face of the cricket in the state.

“It’s a land mark victory which will change the perception of sportsmen entering into the administration. Personally for me, this is one of the sweetest victories in an election,” Binny, the hero of the 1983 World Cup wining Indian team, told reporters.

Asked about the aim of the new elected team, he said, “Cricket and cricketers will get the foremost priority. Our main endeavour will be to improve the standard of cricket in Karnataka and develop a great infrastructure at the grassroots level,” Binny told reporters.