Madhya Pradesh at 312/7 against Karnataka on day 3

Indore: Karnataka took a healthy first innings lead of 161 runs against Madhya Pradesh before reducing them to 312 for seven on the third day of the Ranji Trophy Super League quarterfinal match here on Sunday.

Replying to Madhya Pradesh’s 200 all out, Karnataka started the day at 306 for eight to eventually get all out for 361 in their first essay.

Madhya Pradesh then ended day three at 312 for seven in their second innings, taking a lead of 151 with Ankit Sharma (24) and TP Sudhindra (11) at the crease.

The match witnessed some great resistance from Madhya Pradesh batters – Naman Ojha (68), Mohnish Mishra (45) and Abbas Ali (64) on the day.

Earlier, wicketkeeper batsman CM Gautham after resuming on 29 and Abhimanyu Mithun on 0 went on score 51 and 28 respectively to give the visitors a good start and strengthen their position.

Gautham scored a fine 51 off 97 balls with a help of five fours before Jalaj S Saxena saw him off.

Mithun, who added another 10 runs to the total along with Sreenath Aravind (4 not out) after Gautham’s departure, was sent back by Ankit Sharma.

In their second innings, Madhya Pradesh got off to a solid start with openers Naman Ojha and Jalaj S Saxena putting up a 84-run stand.

But Saxena failed to sustain and fell for 22, Ojha however, continued in the able company of Mohnish Mishra to capitalise on the start.

But once Ojha fell, Mishra soon followed him into the dressing room, while the new batsman in Devendra Bundela (9) also got out cheaply.

Abbas Ali, however, managed to consolidate the innings, playing a superb knock of 60-ball 64, studded with eight fours. He also shared valuable 56-run stand with Harpreet Singh (19), followed by a 36-run partnership with Murtaza Ali.

Even after Abbas’ departure, Murtaza (38) carried on with Ankit Sharma before the former got run out.

For Karnataka, Joshi (2/93) and Mithun (2/49) ended with two wickets each, while Vinay Kumar took one.

Brief scores:

Madhya Pradesh 1st innings: 200 all out
Karnataka 1st innings: 361 all out in 116.4 overs (Amit Verma 85, CM Gautham 51; Jalaj S Saxena 4/43).
Madhya Pradesh 2nd innings: 312 for seven in 74 overs (Naman Ojha 68, Abbas Ali 64; Abhimanyu Mithun 2/49).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link