Madhya Pradesh beat Assam in Buchi Babu cricket

Chennai: Opener Zafar Ali, scored a century while Shan-e-Alam made 85 as Madhya Pradesh defeated Assam by eight wickets in a group D league match of the BCCI All India Buchi Babu Cricket tournament on Monday.

In another group D match, TNCA XI captain R Prasanna`s unbeaten 93 and Aparajith`s 76 helped the hosts register a win against Gujarat.

Meanwhile, in group A Maharashtra defeated Himachal Pradesh to maintain their top position in the group with eight points from two matches. Himachal had won one out of their two games.

Maharashtra leg spinner Deepak Shilamkar`s rich haul of five for 49 helped his side score full points.

In another group A encounter, TNCA President XI defeated Orissa by 121 runs with medium pacer Sunil Sam starring for the home team with figures of five for 54.

Brief Scores:

Group A: Maharashtra (overnight) 302 all out in 89.1 Overs bt Himachal Pradesh 235 in 64 Overs (Hemant Dogra 29, Abhinav Bali 29, Paras Dogra 69, Rishi Dhawan 66, Deepak Shilamkar five for 49) and Famad Fallah two for 41 and TNCA President’s XI 369-7 in 90 Overs bt Orissa 248 in 74.5 Overs (Arvind Singh 133 not out, Tukana Sahu 64, Sunil Sam five for 54, M Ashwin three for 39).

Group D: Assam 297 in 89.1 Overs lost to Madhya Pradesh 298 for two in 84.5 Overs (Zafar Ali 117, Shan-e-Alam 85, Rameez Khan 56 not out, Anand Singh 24 not out) and Gujarat 221 in 69.4 Overs lost to TNCA 222 for three in 65.2 Overs (B Aparajith 76 not out, K H Gopinath 23, R Prasanna 93 not out, Mohnish Parmar two for 55.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link