Mithun Manhas named Delhi Ranji captain

New Delhi: Senior batsman Mithun Manhas was named captain of Delhi team for the first two matches of Ranji Trophy Super League starting on November 1.

Manhas, who is also leading the Delhi Twenty20 side in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, was picked to lead the team by the selection committee headed by former India opener Chetan Chauhan.

Delhi will be without the star quartet of openers Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir and pacers Ashish Nehra and Ishant Sharma.

Gambhir is currently nursing a knee injury which forced him out of the ongoing ODI series against Australia. Sehwag is out due to a shoulder injury, Ishant has a knee problem while Nehra is currently on national duty against Australia.

All these four players will, however, “will be part of the Delhi team whenever they are available,” the Delhi and District Cricket Association said in a statement after a meeting of its selection committee here today.

The Chetan Chauhan-headed panel comprises among others coach Manoj Prabhakar, former player Nikhil Chopra and Manhas.

The players will practice from October 26 at the Ferozeshah Kotla stadium. Delhi’s opening match is scheduled from November 1 against Bengal.

The side will play Tamil Nadu from November 10.

The Team: Mithun Manhas (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Bhatia, Chetnya Nanda, Gaurav Chhabra, Punit Bisht, Pradeep Sangwan, Parwinder Awana, Sumit Narwal, Pawan Suyal, Vikas Mishra, Chetan Sharma, Aditya Jain and Mayank Tehlan.