Mithun, two others to get Border-Gavaskar scholarship

Updated: May 13, 2010, 20:38 PM IST

New Delhi: Young Karnataka paceman Abhimanyu Mithun were among the three cricketers named by the BCCI as the recipients of this year`s Border-Gavaskar scholarship.

Besides Mithun, Punjab all-rounder Mandeep Singh and Harpreet Singh will also receive the prestigious scholarship, a BCCI release said today.

The three players have been awarded the Border-Gavaskar scholarship for 2010. The trio will undergo training at the Cricket Australia`s Centre for Excellence in Brisbane from May 15-28, the release said.

The National Cricket Academy annually awards the scholarship to three promising players, which is named after the two legendary Australian and Indian captains, Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar, who both have more than 10,000 runs in Test cricket.