MP stay in elite, Bengal relegated

Kalyani: In yet another setback for Bengal cricket, the state under-19 side was today relegated after conceding the first innings lead to Madhya Pradesh to finish at the bottom of the league table in the Cooch Behar Trophy.

Coached by Tamil Nadu’s W V Raman, the high-profile Bengal seniors had earlier disappointed after failing to make the Ranji quarter-finals, despite the presence of former India captain Sourav Ganguly.

Madhya Pradesh took a 107-run first innings lead over Bengal on the fourth and final day of the group B league match at the Kalyani Stadium here today, to retain their place in the elite group of the Cooch Behar Trophy (under-19) next season.

In reply to Bengal’s first innings total of 438, Madhya Pradesh resumed for 277/3 and rode on an unbeaten 146 by Shubham Sharma and A J Dhaliwal’s 134 as they toyed with the listless Bengal attack.

Madhya Pradesh declared their innings at 545 for five, thus taking a huge lead.

At stumps, Bengal was 43 for no loss in 15 overs.

The lead gave the visitors three points to finish the league with four points.

Bengal logged one point to finish at the bottom of the league standings with three points.

Brief Scores:

Bengal 438 and 43 for no loss in 15 overs. Madhya Pradesh 545/5 declared in 202 overs (A J Dhaliwal 134, Shubham Sharma 146 not out).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link