Mumbai, Maharashtra register victories

Vadodara: An aggressive half-century by opener Abhishek Nayar and an unbeaten 27 by S Chitnis helped Mumbai defeat Gujarat by five wickets in the West Zone Twenty20 league cricket tournament at the Motibaug ground here on Thursday.

Nayar hit four sixes and four fours in his 43-ball 57 to help Mumbai chase the target of 145 with six balls to spare.

For Gujarat, Niraj Patel took two wickets while conceding 36 runs, while Salil Yadav captured two wickets for 18 runs.

Earlier, electing to bat first, Gujarat scored 145 for the loss of five wickets, with useful contributions from Niraj Patel (41 not out) and opener Parthiv Patel (32).

This is the second consecutive win for Mumbai, who top the league table with eight points.

In another match, Maharashtra defeated Saurashtra by 14 runs in a low-scoring tie to earn four valuable points.

Maharashtra, who were asked to bat first, were bowled out for a paltry score of 81 in 17.3 overs with G Gaekwad and Harshad Khadiwale chipping in with useful contributions of 24 and 22 runs respectively. Upcoming pacer Jaidev Unadkat and S Maniyar did most of the damage taking three wickets each.

Maharashtra returned to the field with vengeance and bundled out Saurashtra for just 67 in 18.4 overs as the batsmen gifted away their wickets cheaply.

P Mehta (28) staged a lone battle but could not prevent the outcome.

Brief scores:

Gujarat: 145-5 in 20 overs (Niraj Patel 41 not out, Parthiv Patel 32 runs; V S Yellegati 2-23 runs) lost to Mumbai: 150-5 in 19 overs (A Nayar 57, S Chitnis 27 not out Salil Yadav 2-18, Niraj Patel 2-36) by five wickets.

Maharashtra: 81 all out in 17.3 overs (H Khadiwale 22, G Gaekwad 24, J Unadkat 3-18, S Maniyar 3-24) beat Saurashtra: 67 all out in 18.4 overs (P Mehta 28, S Jogiyani 11, S Kotak 10, Samad Fallah 3-7, S Mande 2-18 runs, G Gaekwad 2-8) by 14 runs.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link