Orissa all out for 175; Haryana 75 for 4

Rohtak: After bundling out Orissa for a mere 175, Haryana themselves struggled to reach 75 for four at the end of the first day’s play of their Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match here on Wednesday.

Orissa’s Subhrajit Sahoo (50 not out) was the only batsman who could hit a respectable score on a day dominated by bowlers.

Opting to bat first, Orissa got off to a decent start with openers Paresh Patel (25) and Natraj Behera (22) playing cautious innings each, before Sachin Rana drew the first blood for the hosts to see off the former.

Soon, even Behera followed his partner into the dressing room with Joginder Sharma causing the damage this time.

Thereafter, Orissa’s downfall started as the host bowlers simply wrecked havoc to leave the visitors suddenly reeling at 86 for six.

However, Sahoo came to his team’s rescue as he in the able company of Lagnajit Samal (23) managed to consolidate the innings and help steady the boat a bit.

But once Samal got out, it was once again the same story as Orissa quickly lost rest of the tail, failing to reach even the 200-run mark. Sahoo remained unbeaten on 50 from 102 balls with the help of three boundaries and a six.

While Sachin Rana (3/34) and Amit Mishra (3/55) chipped in with three wickets each, Joginder Sharma (2/21) took two.

Replying to Orissa’s modest total, Haryana failed to executive their plans properly as they also failed to get off to a good start and lost early wickets.

Right-arm medium pacer Alok Sahoo did not allow the Haryana batsman to settle and went on to dismiss both the openers Nitin Saini (14) and Rahul Dewan (20) cheaply, before sending back Sunny Singh for a duck to put Orissa on the back foot.

Skipper Debasis Mohanty then saw off Ankit Rawat (1) to give a much-needed boost to the visitors.

Hemang Badani (14) and Sachin Rana (19) were at the crease when the stumps were drawn.

Brief Scores:

Orissa 1st innings: 175 all out in 55.4 overs (Subhrajit Sahoo not out 50, Paresh Patel 25; Sachin Rana 3/34, Amit Mishra 3/55).

Haryana 1st innings: 75 for four in 32 overs (Rahul Dewan 20; Alok Sahoo 3/27).