Rain threatens to play spoilsport in Saurashtra-Delhi tie

Rajkot: Unseasonal rains over the last few days may play spoilsport in the fourth round of elite division Ranji trophy match between Saurashtra and Delhi starting on Wednesday at SCA stadium in Khandheri here.

Neither teams could take part in the practice sessions on Tuesday due to incessant rains and the pitch curator Rasik Makwana also expressed fear that opening day of the game may get washed out as it would not be easy for the groundsmen to make the outfield dry within a day.

Saurashtra, who have just two points from three matches, are eyeing to get maximum points after the inclusion of Cheteshwar Pujara who missed first three matches serving for the national team.

Left arm seamer Jaydev Unadkat, who was also not available as he was summoned for the third test against New Zealand, has been included in the side.

Both the players are expected to arrive here this evening as India won the third test against the Kiwis on the fourth day of the match at Nagpur. If Pujara would be available for the match against Delhi, then he would be the main stay in batting for Saurashtra to be supported by seasoned Sitanshu Kotak, Sagar Jogiyani, Pratik Mehta and captain Jaydev Shah.

While the pace department would be looked after by Jaydev Unadkat and Sandip Maniar, Rakesh Dhruve and Kamlesh Makwana would be holding the spin forte.

Ravindra Jadeja has not been included in the squad as he will be busy for the ODI series against New Zealand.

Delhi too did not have great start to their Ranji season, losing opening match against Bengal by virtue of the first inning lead and earned only one point.

However, Delhi recovered well from there on and earned three points each in their next two games against Tamil Nadu and Gujarat.

Delhi’s batting would revolve around last match’s centurion Shikhar Dhawan, Yogesh Nagar and captain Mithun Manhas. They will miss the services of their prominent batsman Virat Kohli who has been included for ODI series.

While pacers Sumeet Narwal, Pradeep Sangwan and Parvinder Awana would look to make early inroads into Saurashtra batting, spinner Vikas Mishra would look for turn and bounce.


Saurashtra: Jaydev Shah (Capt), Sitanshu Kotak, Chirag Pathak, Sagar Jogiyani, Cheteshwar Pujara, Pratik Mehta, Rakesh Dhruve, Kamlesh Makwana, Sheldon Jackson, Jaydev Unadkat, Jayesh Odedara, Vishal Joshi, Sandeep Maniar, Bhushan
Chauhan and Jaydeep Bhatti. Coach- Debu Mitra.

Delhi: Mithun Manhas (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Unmukt Chand, Puneet Bisht, Mayank Tehlan, Aditya Jain, Gaurav Chhabra, Sumeet Narwal, Pradeep Sangwan, Vikas Mishra, Manoj Chauhan, Yogesh Nagar, Ankul Julka, Parvinder Awana and Pawan Suyal. Coach-Manoj Prabhakar.