Rana, Dhruv shine as Haryana gain upper hand against UP

Ghaziabad: Sachin Rana and Dhruv Singh shared seven wickets between them to help Uttar Pradesh (UP) bowl out Haryana for 167 and then reach 84 for no loss at stumps in the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match here today.

Openers Nitin Saini (49) and Rahul Dewan (34) were going steady at the crease at draw of stumps at the Mohan Meakins Cricket Stadium here.

Earlier, skipper Mohammad Kaif`s decision to bat first backfired as beside Piyush Chawla (49) none of the UP batsmen could provide enough resistance to the Haryana bowlers.

Openers Tanmay Srivastava (22) and Shivakant Shukla (13) added just 27 runs before the former was sent packing by Joginder Sharma lbw in the ninth over.

Eklavya Dwivedi failed to open his account and was cleaned up by Budhwar, while Shukla was caught plumb in front of wicket by Dhruv.

Dhruv then consumed Parvinder Singh (0) and Ashish Yadav (0) in successive deliveries as UP looked down the barrel at 54 for five in 18.4 overs.

A lot was expected of skipper Kaif (14) but he too perished after being bowled by Rana.

Rana then cleaned up Bhubaneshwar Kumar (23) and Amir Khan (18) before inducing Chawla to an lbw to break UP`s back.

Sudeep Tyagi then run himself out as UP folded for 167.

In reply, Haryana had no problems with openers Saini and Dewan negotiating the early overs very well.

Saini is just a run short of a well-deserved half-century which has been studded with nine boundaries so far. Dewan, on the other hand, struck five hits to the fence in his 92-ball innings.

Brief Score:

Uttar Pradesh 1st innings: 167 all out in 49.5 overs (Piyush Chawla 49; Sachin Rana 4/51).

Haryana 1st innings: 84 for no loss in 32 overs (N Saini 49 batting, R Dewan 34 batting; RP Singh 0/26).